Aveda, Always.

When I was a child I had an obsession with red hair. I wanted to be Ariel from The Little Mermaid. I wanted to be Harmony from The Queen’s Nose. I wanted a flowing vibrant mane made of wild fire.

As I got older I realised that was never going to happen. I’m black, these invented characters were white. I had unattainable aspirations so I learnt to take care of what I had as best as I could. I tried a plethora of hair care hair care brands in the hopes of cultivating a lustrous mane and got entangled in the web of hair extensions dyes and heat styling which collectively have all caused some damage along the way.

For a few years I have been following Mo Knows Hair on Youtube and social media and have watched her journey with Aveda. At the end of 2016 I decided to try Aveda and bought the shampoo, conditioner and repair cream from the Damage Remedy line, along with the smooth infusion naturally straight lotion. I hoped I could undo some of the problems caused by experimenting so much with my hair. On New Year’s Eve 2016, I cut my shoulder length natural hair into a bob myself, on impulse, as a last ditch attempt to revive my mane. After cutting, I used my new products on my new do, washing, conditioning, blow-drying and straightening my hair into my new style.

It was like new life had been breathed into my strands and my hair smelled wonderfully fragrant. It was soft and silky and frizz free. It stayed straight for about a week, when usually I get a maximum of 5 days at a push from straight hair. I washed my hair later that week using the Damage Remedy line again, skeptical about whether my curls would return. They did and they wasn’t any additional damage. In fact they were more defined, shinier and bouncier.

I have continued to use Aveda over the last 4 months and have noticed a difference in the thickness strength and growth rate of my hair. Since my initial purchase I have added the Damage Remedy intensive mask to my hair care regime and have bought some products from the Be Curly range, which I am yet to try. I am a product junkie so am also curious to experience the Invati line also.

Whatever I decide to use next, I know it will only be Aveda and am going to incorporate some of the styling products into my hair care regime in order for it to be exclusively Aveda. My hair is on a the way to be healthy, strong and long, even if I’m not be able to have flowing locks of fire.

IMG_2114b

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

